Tinker Toys for Yarn

I bought some yarn to start another sweater for my daughter because I am so smitten with the designs of one of the designers on Ravelry. This one will be a “Cinnamon” by Elena Nodel.

I don’t usually buy yarn that needs to be wound before use so I don’t own a swift. In the past I have just had the kids put their arms out to keep the yarn behaving while I wound it. Today, I followed an idea I saw on a blog to build one out of Tinker Toys.

My son took charge of construction and in no time we had a working, spinning swift. It needed a few adjustments to keep the pieces tight as I am sure some of these pieces are older than me. In the end, I had 3 beautiful cakes of yarn.

My son hung out and built while I worked šŸ™‚

Here is a blog with great pictures and instructions for making your own. It is a little bit different from mine, but serves the same purpose.

Leave a Reply

