First Non-Scratch Computer Program

My son has been asking about learning more computer programming lately. He wanted something with code that would be different from the “Scratch” and “Little Big Planet” approaches. I settled on a course called Visual C # Express for Kids. I was a little worried that the spelling and writing part of the code might make things difficult, but decided to try anyway. I am so glad I did! Computer programming in a language like this is nothing like the BASIC or Pascal programs I had to write in school; It is mostly drag and drop mixed with editing code and good naming practices. Logic skills and good algorithms are still key, but spelling needn’t have worried me. So far, he has completed the first 3 chapters (out of 10). Yesterday, he wrote his first program for a Windows application!
I am enjoying learning right alongside him. I looked at the code my husband was writing for work last night and actually understood many parts of it. We will see how this all works out moving forward.

Leave a Reply

