Because we obviously don’t own enough Legos

Anyone who knows us well or who has come to our house probably realizes we have a slight Lego addiction over here. And by that, I mean that at any given time there are likely Lego blocks on the floor in at least 2 rooms and they are actively being played with almost every single day. We also have a giant bin of them overflowing at this point. Given that, it surprised even me this week when I decided we needed more.

What brought this on, you say? I found the Lego Education website and learned about the sets available with motors and USB connections and the like. I never knew there were kits (aside from the robotics NXT one) that let kids add moving parts to their creations. After checking out all of the powered kits, I decided they were a bit pricey. I did however notice a kit that featured creations from the Lego Technic pieces. These models have moveable parts- pulleys, gears, rotating joints, etc., but no motors. It seemed like a good next step for us before moving on to powered models.

I did not purchase one of their kits in the end. Instead I found these cool books on Amazon (Lego Technic Books and “Cool Robots”) and bought a small set of Technic parts off of eBay. The books came right away and I was totally smitten with the Technic ones. The kids pounced on the “Cool Robots” one. They each headed off to find pieces for the robots they wanted to make.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I tried out a few gear formations while they built their creations.

Photobucket
Today we added some of the technic parts from our big pile to the ones we bought and I also pulled out our Klutz Lego Book. We made Lego tops and then competed at Lego “Skittles” 🙂

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

