Japanese “NOT” bag

I know, I know, it is supposed to be a KNOT bag, but really…
does it have to be so darn pesky?

Erin- I blame your swap partner for sending me down this insane path!

I decided to try my hand at a reversible knot bag after seeing the beautiful one Erin got in a swap. I couldn’t tell where the maker had ended it with hand stitching at all.

I found a link to Show Your Workings for a reversible knot bag with a round bottom. She has a printable pattern and all the instructions ready to go.

I carefully cut out all my pieces and used flannel scraps for an interfacing layer (as suggested in “Bend-the-Rules Sewing “).

Sewing the bottom went fine. Everything was swimming along until I got to the step where you sew up the handle pieces. Somehow the seam turns perpendicular to the one you have already sewn and I just haven’t managed to sew it. It has been sitting on the table staring at me for days.

Maybe I will try again today while it is storming…

Maybe Knot.

My sad bag, still inside out.

P1010009.JPG

Leave a Reply

