Creating My Own Patterns

Working on the tawashi projects, I have learned so much about how to crochet different shapes, how to join colors, how to alternate colors, and more. I decided that it was time for me to try to create my own pattern.

I started with an idea from Craft Matters. I really liked her use of colored “popcorns”. I thought I could figure out how to make it using single crochet and bobble stitches and then decided to alter the pattern to make the bobbles offset in each row. Here are two versions I made to practice switching colors in and out.

P1010014.JPG

P1010015.JPG

I stuck with her idea of stripes on the back, single crocheting around to connect the 2 pieces.

As an added benefit while making these, I also got to see firsthand how much the weight of the yarn changed the size of the bobbles in the the finished tawashi.

Leave a Reply

