Gutter and Bees

Our front gutter has been pulling away from the house for a while now and J. decided he would take it down and fix it.  After seeing how things have been built/repaired in this house in the past, he was not all that surprised to see that they didn’t hang the gutter on an actual piece of wood, but on a left-over piece of panelling from the family room, maybe 1/4″ thick?  It had gotten wet and was rotting through, unable to hold up the gutter.


Here is the progress.




Behind it, he found a bird’s nest and a bunch of bee hives which he took down.



Being the cool mom that I am, I gave each kid one for their collections.  Being the naive mom that I am, I didn’t realize there were still bees in them…until my daughter said there was a bee in her room and I found this! 



Good thing the lid was closed ’till then.


We quickly took them outside.  For those who also didn’t know- if the hive has that papery covering still on it, there are bees in there!



Here is one I pulled out who was already dead.



Also, the new couch and table on the front porch were generously given to us by one of the local AP families.  I am going to repaint the black metal part and see if I can pull together some new cushion covers. 


Updated to add that I have since learned that these are not bees, but wasps (hornets to be exact). My bad!

http://www.coopext.colostate.edu/4dmg/Pests/whatis.htm

Leave a Reply

